School Leadership

Board of Directors

Central Christian School is led by an 11 member Board of Directors that reports to the Session of Central Presbyterian Church. Each year, the Board consists of members elected by parents, church elders and others appointed by the Church. The Board is structured into five committees, with a School Board member as Chair. Interested parents and teachers also serve on these committees as appropriate. The committees are: Executive, Finance, Governance, Long Range Planning, and Development.

The Board is currently chaired by Central alumna and current parent, Melanie Wood '86 (pictured right).

Current board members are: Nancy Barter, Tim Belz, Marc Braun, Emily Gardner, Josh Hager, Ebony McCain, Doug Miller, Tim Page, and Mark Talbott.

Interim Head of School

Central Christian School is pleased to introduce Noah Brink as Interim Head of School for 2018-19. Mr. Brink comes to Central with vast experience in Christian education, including his own education, teaching, administration, faculty training, and consultation to Christian schools nationwide. He received his undergraduate degree in Biblical and Theological Studies from Wheaton College, and holds Master’s Degrees in Educational Leadership and Biblical Studies from Covenant College and Reformed Theological Seminary, respectively. 

Mr. Brink's infectious love of learning, eagerness to engage with our community, and deep desire to understand people and various perspectives will allow him to apply his expertise to Central Christian School. He brings a keen perception about people and organizations, including an understanding of individuals and systems in transition. Most importantly, Mr. Brink loves the Lord and sees his need for Jesus. He writes of his love for and calling to Christian schools: “…that is the place where I have the greatest platform to live as one shaped by a need for and gratitude to the living and active Jesus…and then model that for the members of the school community. That’s what most enlivens me; that’s what most compels me…it’s what excites me to think about being a part of how God is using Central in St. Louis to train students to be redemptive agents in the city and beyond.” 


The operational leadership of Central's academic program is provided by our principal, Paya Sample, effective July 1, 2018. Holding a Master's in Elementary Education (Truman State University), as well as an Educational Specialist Degree in Educational Leadership (Webster University), Mrs. Sample brings years of experience as a classroom teacher and instructional coordinator.

Throughout her career, Mrs. Sample has served in various roles across the educational landscape, including planning curriculum development, leading technology initiatives, building testing coordination, facilitating action research cohorts and playing a lead role in many aspects of professional development. In all of her work, she pushes to keep students at the center of the conversations and decisions that are made. 

Mrs. Sample is extremely excited to join the Central Christian community and serve as our principal. She knows that strong and trusting relationships are key to the success of a school, and she looks forward to connecting with students, parents, and staff. We are excited about her addition to the team and are confident that Central’s teachers and students will benefit from her work alongside the current administrative team, faculty and families.

Administrative Team

Central's Administrative Team consists of individuals working collaboratively together in Academics, Advancement, and Operations: Academics: Dana Scheidt (Director of Curriculum & Instruction, Advancement: Christan Perona (Director of Admissions and Communications). Operations: Audra Christian (Director of Operations; Special Events), Lindsey Hunsicker (Executive Assistant, Head of School and Admissions), Annette Shroyer (Registrar/Office Manager), and Bill Goessling (Business Manager).